

# Board of Directors

8 December 2016

# Minutes of the 2016 Fall Meeting of the Board of Directors

3:00pm - Thursday, 8<sup>th</sup> December 2016 Hotel Radisson, Kitchener, Ontario

# 1. NOTICE OF MEETING

Chair Bruce Matheson called the meeting to order at 3:17 p.m. and advised that the Notice of Meeting had been sent out on October 20<sup>th</sup>, 2016 in accordance with the by-laws of the Institute.

# 2. ATTENDANCE

The following Board members and guests were in attendance:

<u>Directors</u> Bruce Matheson, Chair Chris Groot Stephen Mackinnon	Frontier Hubbell Atlantic	Randy McDonald Byron Nelson Ray Wilcock, Secretary	Armtec Leland CSPI
<u>Absent</u> Shane Setter John Tran	Ironside AMD	lan Berry	Warner
<u>Guests</u> Kamran Derayeh Kevin Williams Janine Yetke Dave Watson	AMD Atlantic Armtec Leland	Mike Mounts Jason Sherwood Nick Spence	Valfilm Atlantic Atlantic

The Chair asked if there was anyone present, holding a proxy for an absent board member. Ray Wilcock the Secretary said there were none.

The Chair declared that a quorum was present (minimum of 4 Directors) and the meeting regularly constituted for the transaction of business.

# 3. NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF DIRECTORS & OFFICERS FOR 2016/2017

The following slate of nominations for Directors & Officers of the Institute for 2016/2017 was presented:

For Director:

lan Berry John Tran Byron Nelson Chris Groot Bruce Matheson Stephen MacKinnon Shane Setter Randy McDonald

A motion was made by **Byron Nelson**, 2<sup>nd</sup> by **Stephen MacKinnon** to elect all 8 as Directors of the Institute for the 2016/2017 term. Motion carried.

For Officers: President Vice President Executive Secretary Treasurer

Bruce Matheson Randy McDonald Ray Wilcock Steve Fox

A motion was made by **Byron Nelson**, 2<sup>nd</sup> by **Stephen MacKinnon** to elect those nominated as Officers of the Institute for the 2016/2017 term. Motion carried.

### 4. NOMINATION & ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR 2016-2017

The following slate of nominations for Executive Committee of the Institute for 2016-2017 was presented:

Bruce Matheson Randy McDonald John Tran

Stephen MacKinnon Chris Groot

A motion was made by **Stephen MacKinnon**, 2<sup>nd</sup> by **Byron Nelson** to elect those nominated to the Executive Committee of the Institute for the 2016-2017 terms. Motion carried.

### MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING 5.

A motion was made by Chris Groot, second by Randy McDonald to accept the Minutes of the Board of Directors meeting held on 13 June 2016 in St. Andrews by the Sea in New Brunswick was carried unanimously.

### PPC AND TAC REPORTS 6.

There was one issue brought up by Kevin Williams, TAC chair pertaining to the acceptance of the Strategic Plan previously discussed that morning. All Board Directors present also attended the a.m. session and agreed with the strategies going forward.

### 7. **BY-LAWS**

No issues to report.

### 2017 BUDGET & FEE SCHEDULE 8.

The forecast for 2016 and the 2017 budget were reviewed after agenda #9.

A motion was made by **Byron Nelson**, 2<sup>nd</sup> by **Randy McDonald** to approve the 2017 budget and fee schedule as presented by the Secretary. Motion carried.

## **CLOSED SESSION - Dave Penny Situation & Tee Group Membership Request** 9.

All non-board members were asked to leave for this item.

After all returned, the chair Bruce Matheson advised that the board agreed to a per diem rate with Dave based upon specific projects assigned by the PPC & TAC Committees. The Contract Assistance line in the budget was approved. Bruce will advise the Executive Director and chairs

of the PPC & TAC Committees the per diem rate once it is finalized with Dave. The Board asked the Committee chairs to outline time and budget per project approved.

The Board approved the Tee Group request for 2017 membership. The Secretary will send out the approval forms to Tee Group and once signed, will advise the board.

# 10. FUTURE MEETING DATES AND LOCATIONS

- 2017 Annual, June 4-6, Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, BC
- 2017 Fall, TBD
- 2018 Annual, June 10-12, Fairmont Mont-Tremblant, QC

# 11. OTHER BUSINESS – COMMITMENT TO CSSBI

The Board reviewed the 2017 CSSBI budget and approved same. The Board confirmed CSPI's commitment to CSSBI for 2017.

# 12. NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held in Vancouver, British Columbia on June 5<sup>th</sup> 2017 at the Westin Bayshore at an exact time and location room to be determined.

# 13. ADJOURNMENT

A motion to adjourn was made by **Stephen MacKinnon**, second by **Byron Nelson** and was carried at **4:13 p.m**.

Ray Wilcock Executive Secretary Bruce Matheson Chair - President